10th STOA Annual Lecture (2011) ‘Sustainable Management of Natural Resources’

Date: Tuesday, 29 November 2011
Venue: EP, JAN 4Q2 / Hémicycle (t.b.c.)

10:30 - 11:00 Press Conference with Paul Rübig and Csaba Tabajdi (t.b.c.)

11:00 - 11:15 Welcome by Jerzy Buzek, President of the European Parliament or Silvana Koch-Mehrin, Vice-President of the European Parliament responsible for STOA, and Paul Rübig, STOA Chairman (t.b.c.)

11:15 - 12:00 Keynote Speech by Paul Krugman, Princeton University, Professor, Nobel Prize in economics, 2008, (t.b.c.) or John Beddington, UK Government Chief Scientific Adviser and Head of the Government Office for Science (t.b.c.)

12:00 - 12:45 High-level meeting on policies for management of natural resources
- Koji Omi, Founder and Chairman, STS (Science and Technology in Society) forum (t.b.c.)
- Alexander Julius Müller, Assistant Director-General, Department of Natural Resources Management and Environment, Food and Agriculture Organisation of the UN, Rome (t.b.c.)
- Etelka Barsi-Pataky, former MEP, former member of STOA Panel, government commissioner for the Danube Strategy (Hungarian Presidency; t.b.c.)
- Representative of Polish Presidency (t.b.c.)

13:00 - 14:45 Lunch with guest speakers

Welcome by Jerzy Buzek or Silvana Koch-Mehrin, and Paul Rübig (t.b.c.)
Members of the STOA Panel, other Members and invited guests (30-40 people)
EP President's lounge (t.b.c.)

15:00 - 17:00 Workshop and roundtable on management of natural resources

Introductory presentations:
 Preliminary results from an ongoing STOA project (t.b.c.)
 European Commission on resource efficiency (COM(2011)21) (t.b.c.)

Roundtable speakers:
- John Anthony Allan, Professor Emeritus at King's College London, Stockholm Water Prize 2008 (t.b.c.)
- Martin Parry, Visiting Professor at The Centre for Environmental Policy and Visiting Research Fellow at The Grantham Institute, Imperial College London
- Peter Henry Gleick, President and Co-Founder, Pacific Institute for Studies in Development, Environment and Security
- Thomas E. Graedel, School of Forestry and Environmental Studies, Yale University

17:00 - 19:00 STOA Annual Lecture
- Peter A. Wilderer, Director, Institute for Advanced Studies on Sustainability, Technical University of Munich, Stockholm Water Prize 2003
- Mathis Wackernagel, Founder and Executive Director of Global Footprint Network

19:00 - 20:00 Cocktail for the participants of the STOA Annual Lecture

20:00 - 22:00 Sustainable Energy Prize

Responsible for STOA Annual Lecture 2011:
Paul Rübig, MEP, STOA Chairman
Csaba Tabajdi, MEP, STOA Panel member
Miklós Györffi, STOA Secretariat
Contact: Miklós Györffi, Tel: +32-2-28 32505
E-mail: miklos.gyoerffi@europarl.europa.eu